Health Services Planning Commission.—The Commission, appointed under authority of the Health Services Act, 1946, is concerned with improving the standards of medical care throughout the Province. All hospital planning and administration, and all approved hospitals come under its supervision. The Commission acts as an advisory and consultative body to local regions, municipalities, local improvement districts, mutual benefit and hospital associations, and Union hospitals and is responsible for the administration of medical care grants: it assesses hospital facilities and advises on needed hospital expansion. It must approve bylaws and contracts for all types of municipal health schemes.

The Saskatchewan Hospitalization Act, 1946.—The Saskatchewan Hospital Services Plan, administered by the Health Services Planning Commission, went into effect Jan. 1, 1947 It provides for hospital care on a public-ward basis for every resident of the Province. An annual tax of \$5 per person with a family maximum of \$30 provides a fund out of which the hospital bills are paid.

Cancer Commission.—This Commission, created in 1930, has established consultative, diagnostic, surgery and treatment clinics for cancer at Regina and Saskatoon. Radon is manufactured at a plant in Saskatoon.

Poliomyelitis .-- Free treatment of cases is available at Saskatoon and Regina.

Tuberculosis.—Free diagnostic and treatment services are available in three sanatoria and a number of clinics operated by the Saskatchewan Anti-Tuberculosis League. These are financed by government grants and per capita charges on municipalities. Annual surveys are carried out throughout the Province financed by voluntary subscription.

Alberta.—The Department of Public Health administers all public-health matters in the Province and includes the following Divisions: Communicable Diseases; Sanitary Engineering and Sanitation; Public Health Education; Public Health Entomology; Laboratory; Tuberculosis Control; Public Health Nursing; Municipal Hospitals; Hospital Inspection; Social Hygiene; Vital Statistics; Mental Hygiene; Dental Hygiene; Entomology; and Cancer.

The following institutions are administered by the Department: Central Alberta Sanatorium; the Provincial Mental Hospital, Ponoka; the Provincial Training School, Red Deer; the Provincial Auxiliary Hospital, Claresholm; the Provincial Auxiliary Hospital, Raymond; the Provincial Mental Institute, Edmonton.

Free clinics for venereal disease are maintained at the following centres: Edmonton, Calgary, Medicine Hat, Lethbridge, Peace River, High Prairie, McLennan, and in the two provincial gaols. Arsenicals, penicillin and sulpha drugs are provided free of charge to all private physicians treating venereal disease. Educational work on social hygiene is carried on by means of lectures, moving pictures, bulletins and radio talks.

Free treatment for infectious types of tuberculosis is provided for any person who has resided in the Province for at least one year immediately preceding admission for treatment in the sanatorium. In addition to this service, two mobile X-ray clinics are in operation; the personnel is supplied and the clinics are maintained by the Provincial Department of Public Health while the equipment is furnished by the Alberta Tuberculosis Association.